HIGH POINT, N.C. – Junior Alyssa Blanchard (Columbia, S.C.) and senior Kendall Sigmon (Hilton Head, S.C.) have been named to the 2011 Conference Carolinas Women’s Tennis All-Conference Teams. Blanchard was a First Team All-Conference selection and Sigmon was a Third Team All-Conference selection. In addition to Blanchard’s First Team selection she was also named the Conference Carolinas Women’s Tennis Player of the Year.

Blanchard has had an outstanding year on the tennis courts for the Cobras. She has played No. 1 singles and doubles all season and has only lost a combined six matches (11-2 singles, 10-4 doubles). Not only has she only lost two matches all season, she also strung together 10 consecutive singles match victories from Feb. 22 to April 2.

Sigmon, the Cobras lone senior, has played solid at No. 4 singles all season. With a record of 5-3 in conference play, she has been a difficult opponent each time she stepped onto the court.

The Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams were determined by vote from each Head Coach of participating league institutions.  Nominations were collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, All-Conference Second Team and All-Conference Third Team.  Awards were presented at the league tennis team banquet at the Conference Tournament Championships co-hosted by Erskine College and the Palmetto Park Tennis Complex in Sumter, SC.  This year’s award winners are as follows:

Player of the Year:
Alyssa Blanchard, Coker

Freshman of the Year: 
Corin Hallman, Erskine

Coach of the Year: 
Calhoun Parr, Erskine

Regular Season Champions:
Erskine College

All-Conference First Team:
Alyssa Blanchard, Coker
Tessa Rheault, Erskine
Alena Krutkina, Pfeiffer
Corin Hallman, Erskine
Mika Deane, Barton
Britton Bignon, Erskine

All-Conference Second Team:
Elena Mileva, Queens
Christina Rustscheff, Queens
Jimena Munoz, Limestone
Morgan Roberts, Queens
Abby O'Reilly, Erskine
Marine Becker, Mount Olive

All-Conference Third Team:
Christine Vanard, Lees-McRae
Eve Aubry, Limestone
Camila Kurebayashi, Mount Olive
Sofia Medeiros, Mount Olive
Kendall Sigmon,  Coker