Lau Twins Named All-Conference

Lau Twins Named All-Conference

HARTSVILLE, S.C. – Coker College women's basketball players Autumn and Amber Lau were named to the Conference Carolinas all-conference teams, the league announced today. Autumn was named to the second team, while Amber was selected to the third team.

Autumn Lau, a junior from Mt. Wolfe, Pa., transferred to the Cobras this season. In 23 games played, she averaged 18 points, which was third-best in the conference, seven rebounds and just under two blocks per game. She was second in the conference in total blocks, with 56.

Amber Lau, also from Mt. Wolfe, Pa., finished her senior season at Coker in 2012-13. She played in all 29 games and averaged 13.6 points, five rebounds and over two assists per game. This is Amber's second consecutive all-conference selection; she was first team as a junior.

Together, the Lau twins accounted for 47 percent of the Coker offense this year. The Cobras' season ended with a loss to Mont Olive College in the quarterfinals of the conference tournament. Coker compiled an 18-11 record with a 14-8 mark in conference play.

Autumn and Amber are both physical education and sport studies majors with a concentration in sports management. They are the daughters of Brian and Shelby Lau.

It was the final time for the Cobras in Conference Carolinas; the program moves into the South Atlantic Conference beginning in the 2013-14 season.

The Conference Carolinas women's basketball awards are as follows:

Player of the Year

Nyeshea Willie, Barton

Defensive Player of the Year

Elaine Morgan, Barton

Freshman of the Year

Morgan Midkiff, Belmont Abbey

Coach of the Year

Jill Thomas, Pfeiffer

All-Conference First Team

Nyeshea Willie, Barton

Tamara Nesmith, Mount Olive

Christina Harvey, Pfeiffer

Tia Williams, Limestone

Stephanie Hayes, Limestone

Second Team

Brittany Cox, Pfeiffer

Maria Young, Limestone

Autumn Lau, Coker

Shonice Pettaway, Queens

Elaine Morgan, Barton

Third Team

Kelsey Long, Belmont Abbey

Amber Lau, Coker

Kellie Rhoney, Pfeiffer

Alisha Hope, North Greenville

Shante Neal, Barton

Regular Season Champions

Limestone College

Conference Carolinas announces the all-conference teams in conjunction with the men's and women's basketball conference tournaments. Awards include all-conference first, second and third teams, player of the year, defensive player of the year, coach of the year, freshman of the year, and regular season champions.  Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best-of-the-best for the league.

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference made up of 12 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University and Queens University of Charlotte.

For more information, contact Chris Dougherty, manager of athletics media relations and marketing, at 843-383-8018 or


Coker College readies undergraduates for personal and professional success through a distinctive four-year program that emphasizes a practical application of the liberal arts as well as hands-on and discussion-based learning within and beyond the classroom. Coker is ranked among the "Best Colleges" in the South by U.S. News & World Report as well as The Princeton Review. Located in Hartsville, S.C., Coker is within two hours of the cultural, financial and recreational resources of Charlotte, Columbia, Charleston and Myrtle Beach.