Hartsville, SC- The second day of the Lady Cobra Classic proved to have just as much excitement as the first day, with game one going coming down to the final seconds, and game two being a back and forth battle. In game one Converse College defeated Chowan University 55-53 in the final 4.7 seconds of the game, while in game two Francis Marion defeated Coker 84-77.

The first game of the day saw Converse’s Sydney Brown hit a jumper in the paint with just 4.7 seconds remaining in the game to give the Valkyries a stunning 55-53 win over Chowan. The win avenged Converse’s 101-41 loss to Francis Marion on Friday.

Leading the way for Converse was Brown with 18 points, while Ashley Arff netted 17 points with seven rebounds and Kendra Bothof had 10 points and eight rebounds in the game.

For the Hawks of Chowan, AJ O’Banion posted a double-double with 15 points and 14 rebounds, while Ashley Banks had nine points and five rebounds.

In game number two, Coker came out firing on all cylinders going on a 16-6 run to start the game, unfortunately for the Lady Cobras, the Patriots decided to go on a 28-9 run of their own in the first half. Coker cut the lead and even held a lead of their own for a short time in the second half, but in the end the Patriots prevailed with the 84-77 win.

Shannon Singleton-Bates was the Patriots scoring leader with 17 points and six rebounds, while Shaquana Morgan had 12 points and five rebounds. Yasmean Dixon recorded a double-double with 11 points and 11 rebounds, while Kevina Ransom added 10 points for FMU.

Coker had five players in double figures with freshman Megan Thomas scoring a career high 14 points with three assists. Henna Koponen, Temeca Spain and Maija Castren each scored 12 points with Spain collecting nine rebounds and Koponen grabbing seven boards and Castren pulling down five. Kenya McCarthan was the last Cobra in double figures with 10 points.

Five players were named to the Lady Cobra Classic All-Tournament Team, with one player being named tournament MVP.

All-Tournament Team
Yasmean Dixon- Francis Marion
Henna Koponen- Coker
Temeca Spain- Coker
Sydney Brown- Converse
AJ O’Banion- Chowan

Lady Cobra Classic MVP- Shannon Singleton-Bates- Francis Marion