Hartsville, S.C. - The 2009 Conference Carolinas softball tournament got under way on Thursday night with a few new additions to the traditional format. This year instead of the formal awards banquet, host Coker College brought all the players, coaches and fans together for a more informal cookout style banquet that included, a DJ, some line dancing, a little game play and of course the presentation of awards. But before any of that even started there was the first every Line Drive Contest.

Instead of a home run derby like their male counter parts, the women of Conference Carolinas Softball competed in a line drive contest. One contestant from each team stepped to the plate trying to belt line drives to different parts of the field, trying to collect points based on where they hit the ball. Each contestant got 10 swings with the player with the most points winning. After 11 contestants and many line drives it was Limestone’s Christina Woolgar coming out on top, adding to her awards stash for the night, which included a Player of the Year and a First Team All-Conference award.

Conference Carolinas All-Conference Teams were determined by vote from each head coach of participating league institutions.  Nominations are collected and then voted upon by ballot and tallied to determine Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Conference First Team, and All-Conference Second Team.  Awards were presented at the Conference Carolinas softball team banquet at the Conference Tournament Championships hosted by Coker College at Byerly Park, in Hartsville SC.  This year’s award winners are as follows:

Player of the Year:
Christina Woolgar, Limestone College

Freshman of the Year:
Jenna Guse, Limestone College

Coach of the Year:
Jimmy Martin, Limestone College

All-Conference First Team:

All-Conference Second Team:

Christina Woolgar, Limestone-1B

 Shelby Fleming, Pfeiffer-1B

Lindsey LaPrad, Erskine-2B

Kelsey Barnes, Barton-2B

Katee Knapp, Erskine-3B

Anna Oswald, Coker-3B

Kelly Minshew, Mount Olive-SS

Dani Beres, Belmont Abbey-SS

Mary Lee Giurintano, Queens-C

Kayla Williams, Anderson-C

Casey Strickland, Barton-C

Jessica Velasquez, Mount Olive-C

Jasmine Dobbin, St. Andrews-OF

Kelly Davis, Erskine-OF

Kat Cahoon, Mount Olive-OF

Jenna Guse, Limestone-OF

Jessica McFadden, Barton-OF

Ranzy York, Pfeiffer-OF

Jenny Jackson, Mount Olive-DP

Kendall Street, Barton-DP

Kailee Munden, St. Andrews -Utility

Martina Bullard, Pfeiffer -Utility

Kristy Witten, Limestone-P

Chantel Dodge, Queens-P

Shelly Catlett, Coker-P

Sasha Snyder, Mount Olive-P

Amanda Dodson, Lees-McRae-P

Allison Braswell, Pfeiffer-P

2009 Conference Carolinas Awards Ceremony Photo Gallery