Coker's Bedoya Earns NSCAA All-America Honors

Coker's Bedoya Earns NSCAA All-America Honors

KANSAS CITY, Kan. – Coker College freshman Fernando Bedoya received the highest athletic honor given by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) on Friday. Bedoya was named to the 2011 Men's Soccer NCAA Division II NSCAA/Continental Tire All-America Third Team.

The defender from Miami, Fla. was one of only two freshmen to receive All-America Honors and he was the only player selected from the southeast region.

Bedoya helped lead the Cobras to their most successful season in school history in 2011. The Coker men finished the season with an 18-3 overall record and a 10-1 conference record.  They won the program's first ever Conference Carolinas regular season championship, their second conference tournament championship in three years and made their first ever appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

Fernando started in all 21 of Coker's matches in 2011, scoring a goal with four assists for six points. His performance throughout the course of the year earned him First Team All-Conference honors, Daktronics First Team All-Southeast Region honors and NSCAA First Team All-Southeast Region honors.

Bedoya, along with the 35 other All-America team members will be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, to be held in the Kansas City Convention Center's Grand Ballroom on Saturday, Jan. 14, in conjunction with the 2012 NSCAA Convention in Kansas City, Mo.

2011 NSCAA/Continental Tires NCAA Men's Division II All-America Team

First Team          
Pos. Name    Class    School Hometown
K Ryan Wirth    Sr.    Fort Lewis College Bayfield, Colo.
D Max Baessato    Jr.    Simon Fraser University North Vancouver, B.C.
D Berekk Blackwell    Sr.    Fort Lewis College Scottsdale, Ariz.
D Fabian Kling*    Sr.    Fort Lewis College Augsburg, Germany
D Kyle Miller    Sr.    Rockhurst Univeristy Overland Park, Kan.
M Thomas Hoang    Sr.    Fort Lewis College Colorado Springs, Colo.
M Tyler Schultz    Sr.    Seattle Pacific University Scottsdale, Ariz.
M Diego Tabares*    Sr.    Franklin Pierce Seekonk, Mass.
F Carlo Basso    So.    Simon Fraser University Coquitlam, B.C.
F Chance Bukoski*    Sr.    Hawaii Pacific University Kappa, Hawaii
F Mark Magee    So.    Rockhurst Univeristy Evesham, England
Second Team            
K Ryan Bass    So.    Rockhurst Univeristy Jackson, Mo.
D Tommy Barrick    Sr.    Northern Kentucky Gahanna, Ohio
D Jon Pearman    Jr.    Seattle Pacific University Glendale, Ariz.
D Tom Reilly*    Sr.    Franklin Pierce Wallasey, England
D Spence Ryan*    Sr.    Midwestern State University Decatur, Texas
M Joshua Bennett    Sr.    Simon Fraser University Hamilton, Ont.
M Joey Madigan    Sr.    Fort Lewis College Centennial, Colo.
M Paolo Scoppola    So.    Rockhurst Univeristy Rome, Italy
F Tesho Akindele*    So.    Colorado School of Mines Thornton, Colo.
F Mark Anderson    Sr.    Barry University Durham, England
F Scott Grode    Sr.    Metropolitan State Gilbert, Ariz.
F Callum Riley    Sr.    University of the Incarnate Word Leicester, England
Third Team            
K Vinny Papageorgiou    Sr.    Franklin Pierce Wilmington, Mass.
D Fernando Bedoya    Fr.    Coker Miami, Fla.
D Matt Besuschko    So.    Simon Fraser University Port Moody, B.C.
D John Claffey    Sr.    Millersville University Glen Mills, Pa.
D Justin Clark    Sr    Rollins College Atlanta, Ga.
M Cory Dean    Sr.    Fort Lewis Albuquerque, N.M.
M Lucas De Rossi    Fr.    Rockhurst Univeristy Trevignano Romano, Italy
M Guilherme Oliveira    Jr.    Barry University Belo Horizonte, Brazil
F Ashton Campbell    Sr.    Tiffin University Luton, England
F Ferid Celosmanovic*    Sr.    California State  Chico Brcko, Bosnia
F Grant Ellison    Sr.    Quincy University O'Fallon, Mo.
F Harald Gracholski    Sr.    Lynn University Cologne, Germany
F Cemil Turan    So.    C.W. Post-Long Island Staten Island, N.Y.

* indicates repeat selection