Coker's Williams and Morris Named All-Conference

Coker's Williams and Morris Named All-Conference

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Coker College junior men's basketball players Sharod Williams (Miami, Fla.) and Andrew Morris (Melbourne, Australia) were both named to the 2011-12 Conference Carolinas Men's Basketball All-Conference Third Team on Friday.

Williams, a forward, was the team leader in rebounds, averaging 9.2 per game. He tied a Coker single season record for rebounds with 249, a record that has stood since the 1984-85 season. He also tied a Coker record for rebounds in a single game with 19 on Jan. 30. In addition to his rebounding skills, Williams averaged 10.4 points per game and had eight double-doubles this season.

Morris, a guard for the Cobras, was second on the team in scoring, averaging 11.2 points per game and was a constant shooting threat from anywhere on the court. Morris hit nearly 40 percent from both the field and from three-point range during the season. He also scored a career high 24 points on Feb. 11.

Williams and Morris helped lead the Cobras to an overall record of 14-13 and an 8-8 record in league play. The men made their eighth consecutive trip to the conference tournament, including winning six of their last seven games.

Conference Carolinas announces the 2011-12 Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams, Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, and Freshmen of the Year award winners in conjunction with the Conference Carolinas Basketball Tournament Championships taking place this week at league institutions. Head Coaches from conference member schools nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the conference.

Below is the full list of Conference Carolinas Women's Basketball award winners.

Men's Player of the Year

Craig Hayes, Mount Olive

Men's Freshman of the Year

Logan Lyle, King

Men's Coach of the Year

George Pitts, King

Men's All-Conference 1st-Team

Craig Hayes, Mount Olive

Daniel Bailey, Queens

Brian Hewitt, King

Tyshawn Good, Belmont Abbey

Gerald Boston, Barton

Men's All-Conference 2nd-Team

Paul Harrison, North Greenville

Eddie Piccinini, King

Corey Sorrell, Erskine

Derek Staton, Mount Olive

Reggie Hollinger, Pfeiffer

Men's All-Conference 3rd Team

Danny Smith, Pfeiffer

Antonio Stabler, Queens

Sharod Williams, Coker

Andrew Morris, Coker

Jeremiah Henry, Lees-McRae