HIGH POINT, N.C. – Coker College senior women’s soccer player Mandi Warner, along with nine other Conference Carolinas student-athletes, has been selected as a finalist for the Murphy Osborne Award.  This award is given to the conference athlete determined to have the most outstanding academic achievements. 

The finalists for the highest academic award presented by the conference are as follows: Ridge Pruitt of Barton College, Ian Parry of Belmont Abbey College, Amanda Warner of Coker College, Jocelyn Smith of Erskine College, Martha Peacock of Lees-McRae College, Emily Wallace of Limestone College, Brittany Miller of Mount Olive College, Sara McCormack of Pfeiffer University, Caitlin O’Rourke of Queens University of Charlotte, and Becky Brandenburg of St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

To be eligible for the award, a student must be a senior student-athlete with a minimum grade point average of 3.25.  The student must be a full-time student at the time of nomination, must have been a full-time student for at least two years at the member school, and must be a starter or important substitute in a conference sport.  The recipient is selected by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives.  The Murphy Osborne award winner, selected from these finalists, will be announced next Wednesday March 16th, 2011.