HIGH POINT, N.C. – Conference Carolinas is proud to announce that Coker College’s Tom Wright has been selected as the  2010-11 Men’s Basketball Scholar Athlete of the Year as recently voted on by the student-athlete affairs committee.  This prestigious award is presented annually to a student-athlete in each sport for recognition of their outstanding academic and athletic achievements.
Each school submits candidates that are the best of the best for the conference from their sport while meeting certain qualifications for nomination.  The qualifications include being a junior or senior student-athlete with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year. Additionally, in order to qualify for the award the student-athlete must be a current member of the All-Conference Carolinas First, Second, or Third Team which is selected by head coaches from conference member institutions that nominate and then vote upon award winners.

Coker’s Wright has been a true example of what a student-athlete should be since he arrived in Hartsville as a Cobra in 2009. A leader both on and off the court, Wright was instrumental in the success of the Coker men’s basketball team for the past two years. A native of Sydney, Australia, Wright has been successful off the court as two-time Conference Carolinas Academic All-Conference selection and was a 2010 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honor Court selection. On the court he helped lead the Cobra men to their first ever Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship game as the team’s leading scorer averaging nearly 14 points per game. He was an All-Tournament Team selection and was named Second Team All-Conference. Although he will graduate in May 2011, his impact on the Coker community will be felt for years to come.

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference made up of 11 teams from North Carolina and South Carolina. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, Pfeiffer University, Queens University of Charlotte, and St. Andrews Presbyterian College.  For the upcoming 2011-12 academic year King College (Bristol, TN) and North Greenville University (Tigerville, SC) will join as full Conference Carolinas league members.