Coker’s Loraine Named to Second Watch List

Coker’s Loraine Named to Second Watch List

HARTSVILLE, S.C. – Coker College baseball player Zach Loraine has been named to the Tino Martinez Division II player of the year award watch list. Loraine is one of 151 amateur athletes on the list.

The award is presented to the most outstanding player in Division II college baseball. It is named after former University of Tampa and MLB all-star Tino Martinez.

Through nine games, Loraine, a junior pitcher/designated hitter, has hit .423 with a home run, two triples, three doubles and 11 RBIs. He has also scored 10 runs, swiped three bases and compiled an .808 slugging percentage. On the mound, Loraine is 1-0 with nine strikeouts and a 2.57 ERA over seven innings of work.

This is the second watch list Loraine has been named to. He was also featured on the Collegiate Baseball magazine players to watch list for 2013.

Loraine transferred to Coker this season from Lindenwood University. He is originally from Lake St. Louis, Mo. Zach is the son of Lance and Eva Loraine.

Nominations for the award are made by baseball sports information contacts, coaches and media members. A panel of media, coaches and sports information officers is polled to finalize the candidates and determine the winner. A fan Internet vote also contributes to the final vote.

Other Conference Carolinas players – Erskine's Heath Gray and Mount Olive's Matt Dillon, Geno Escalante and Mike Mercurio – also cracked the list.

For more information, contact Chris Dougherty, manager of athletics media relations and marketing, at 843-383-8018 or


Coker College readies undergraduates for personal and professional success through a distinctive four-year program that emphasizes a practical application of the liberal arts as well as hands-on and discussion-based learning within and beyond the classroom. Coker is ranked among the "Best Colleges" in the South by U.S. News & World Report as well as The Princeton Review. Located in Hartsville, S.C., Coker is within two hours of the cultural, financial and recreational resources of Charlotte, Columbia, Charleston and Myrtle Beach.