Murphy, Crane Land on All-Conference Teams

Murphy, Crane Land on All-Conference Teams

HARTSVILLE, S.C. – Coker College men’s golfers Jake Murphy (Hamilton, N.J.) and Jared Crane (Greenville, S.C.) were named to the Conference Carolinas all-conference teams. Murphy was a first-team selection, while Crane was named to the third team.

“It is a tremendous accomplishment for both Jake and Jared to be named all-conference,” said head coach Tommy Baker. “This honor reflects their work ethic and all the extra hours of practice they have put in all year long. I am proud to coach these young men.”

Murphy, a junior criminology major, finished three tournaments in the top 10 for the Cobras. He had a season-low round of 70.

Crane had one top five and one top 10 finish on the season, with a low-round of 70. He is a senior communication major.

The Conference Carolinas all-conference teams were determined by vote from each head coach of participating league institutions. Awards were presented at the league banquet.

Conference Carolinas is a NCAA Division II athletic conference made up of 12 teams from North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, King College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University and Queens University of Charlotte.

For more information, contact Chris Dougherty, manager of athletics media relations, at 843-383-8018 or


Coker College readies undergraduates for personal and professional success through a distinctive four-year program that emphasizes a practical application of the liberal arts as well as hands-on and discussion-based learning within and beyond the classroom. Coker is ranked among the “Best Colleges” in the South by U.S. News & World Report as well as The Princeton Review. Located in Hartsville, S.C., Coker is within two hours of the cultural, financial and recreational resources of Charlotte, Columbia, Charleston and Myrtle Beach.