Coker Honors 2013-14 Athletic Accomplishments

Coker Honors 2013-14 Athletic Accomplishments

HARTSVILLE, S.C. – Coker College wrestler Charlie Huff and women’s golfer Taylor Demby were named the C.G. Timberlake Athletes of the Year, highlighting the 2014 Athletics Awards Ceremony held Wednesday (Mar. 30) night in the Watson Theater. Women’s lacrosse player Mackenzie Baker was named Freshman of the Year.


Huff, a junior, led the wrestling team to 10 wins in its first season by compiling 27 wins with four falls. The 133-pounder accomplished a number of firsts for the wrestling program, as he won the first individual title at the 33rd Annual Pembroke Classic on Nov. 9th and qualified for nationals after finishing fourth at the NCAA Division II Midwest Regional.


Charlie is an education major from Sewell, N.J., and is the son of Chuck and Shelley Huff.


Demby, a sophomore, was the catalyst for the women’s golf team’s second-place finish at the 2014 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Golf Championship. She was named a second-team All-SAC selection and finished the season with a stroke average of 79.6. Her lowest round of the season came at the Patsy Rendleman Invitational, when she recorded a 73.


Taylor is an communication major from Chesterfield, S.C. She is the daughter of Gregg and Angela Demby.


Baker, a second team All-SAC selection, was an offensive juggernaut for the women’s lacrosse team, racking up 44 total points on 38 goals and six assists. She scored five goals on four separate occasions and led the women’s lacrosse team to within one game of the conference tournament in its inaugural season.


Mackenzie is an undecided major from Orlando, Fla.  She is the daughter of Wayne and Debbi Baker.


In addition to the athlete of the year and freshmen of the year, Coker handed out awards for team MVP and coaches’ pick. They are as follows: Men’s soccer: Daniel Jackson, MVP; Atticus Lum, coaches’ pick. Women’s soccer: Lizz Morris, MVP; Heather Blaschke, coaches’ pick. Men’s cross country: Dylan Bates, MVP; Britian Tomlinson, coaches’ pick. Women’s cross country: Hannah Cook, MVP; Naomi Watson, coaches’ pick. Women’s volleyball: Samantha Celek, MVP; Hannah Vadakin, coaches’ pick. Men’s basketball: Julian Nelson, MVP; Eric White, coaches’ pick. Women’s basketball: Tanesha Stenson, MVP; Priscilla Fenty, coaches’ pick. Men’s golf: Josh Clay, MVP; Chris Fuga, coaches’ pick. Women’s golf: Taylor Demby, MVP; Mallory Thompkins, coaches’ pick. Softball: Sydney Weatherford, MVP; Bethany Sevek, coaches’ pick. Baseball: Ernie Kirkwood, MVP; Hunter Ressler, coaches’ pick. Men’s tennis: Andre Staab, MVP; James Corfield, coaches’ pick. Women’s tennis: Faith Baxley, MVP; Sarah Elliott, coaches’ pick. Men’s lacrosse: Mike Martiello, MVP; Ryan Maurer, coaches’ pick; Women’s lacrosse: Mandy Lopez, MVP; Mackenzie Baker, coaches’ pick. Men’s volleyball: Ricardo Ferrer, MVP; Leshon Alexander, coaches’ pick. Spirit Squad: Cierra Stinson, MVP; Alyssa Ammons, coaches’ pick. Wrestling: Charlie Huff, MVP; Mikel Nelson, coaches’ pick.


Release written by Coker sports information graduate assistant Sharod Williams.


2013-14 Athletic Awards Photo Gallery